Lindsey Graham Challenging Moscow Mitch for Title of “America’s Greatest Hypocrite”

graham (1)

When most Americans hear the name “Lindsey Graham,” they also think of the last true Republican, John McCain. Together they stood against the radical and extremist GOP led by traitor Moscow Mitch McConnell. Senator McCain earned my respect although I did not always agree with his position on the issues. In 2000 I supported his effort to receive the Republican Party’s presidential nomination, and to this day I have many reasons to feel disappointed that “W” became the party’s presidential candidate.

When Senator McCain lost his battle with brain cancer in August of 2018 his close friend, Lindsey Graham decided to drink the Kool-Aid. Although he denounced Donald Trump during the 2016 campaign, he pivoted 180 degrees and bowed to the fascist in the White House.

I am unable to imagine why Graham abandoned his morals and principles to serve the worst illegitimate and impeached  president in our nation’s history, but the truth is that a once respected Republican senator has become a traitor to our nation’s people.

I mean nothing to Graham. My opinion of him is inconsequential. However, how Richard Wilkerson views Graham today is important.

Wilkerson is the former chairman of Michelin, North America, and a former supporter of the senator from South Carolina. He has not only removed his money and support from Graham, he is supporting his opponent in the November election.

“I supported Lindsey Graham until 2017,” ex-Michelin North America chairman Richard Wilkerson writes. “I saw him as a moderate Republican who could work across the aisle to get positive change made. But I started having real misgivings about him when he failed to mount any significant defense when Donald Trump attacked his best friend, the late Sen. John McCain.”

“What is the character of a man who will not defend his best friend? If he won’t defend John McCain, why would I expect him to defend any of us in South Carolina?” Wilkerson asked himself. The only conclusion he could come to was that Graham was more interested in “currying favor than in honoring the memory of a true American hero whom he had described as his best friend.”

When it comes to the hyper-political divide between Republicans and Democrats, “Graham was a leader of this divisiveness,” Wilkerson contends.

“Graham used to be criticized by more conservative people in the Republican Party for being a RINO (Republican in Name Only),” Wilkerson continued. “They felt that his moderate stance on issues until 2017 was inappropriate. He is no longer that person, and that is why I decided two years ago to end my support. I wrote to him and let him know that I no longer recognized him as the man I once supported.”

Graham proves my claim that today’s GOP is composed of ‘Republicans in name only.’ These men and women have abandoned the principles and ideals of the once Grand Old Party. They serve their fuhrer, not the American people. This party has been ‘bought and paid for’ by big business and other special interest groups including the Christian religious right and the NRA gun lobby. You and I are of no concern to Graham and his hypocritical party.

Finally, I beg the people of South Carolina to end their support for a political party which has failed them for decades and do the right thing. Refuse to support Graham’s reelection in November. He is not worthy of being a United States Senator.

Op-ed by James Turnage

Source

Image courtesy of DonkeyHotey

My eight novels are available on Amazon

Leave a comment