Republican Platform Confirms Homophobia and Racism

New Republican Logo

The Republican Party has capitulated to Donald Trump’s lack of morality and hatred of American principles. It is an admission that their entire party is homophobic, misogynistic, and racist based upon the platform they have adopted.

The official position of the Republican Party is inclusive of all things anti-American. They seek to ban all abortions and defund Planned Parenthood. Efforts will be made to reverse same-sex marriage. Same-sex couples will no longer be allowed to adopt children. Transgendered Americans will be forced to use public bathrooms based on their gender of birth. They approve the construction of a wall along America’s border with Mexico.

Republicans not only fail to support all Americans; they reject the Constitution. They also reject the beliefs of the great majority of the American people. If Trump is allowed to infest the White House, the America founded by our forefathers will be no more than a failed experiment.

The question which must be asked is how did voters from one party allow a demented, angry, racist, and ignorant man to become their standard bearer? Even more questionable is why would they allow his beliefs to become the party’s platform?

As an Independent, I have voted for candidates from both parties, and occasionally for a third party candidate. I vote based on a review of the potential candidate’s proposals and ideas, as well as his or her support of the entirety of the Constitution. I am saddened to say that unless drastic changes are made within the Republican Party, I can never again vote for any individual who campaigns under its ‘flag.’

How did the party of Lincoln move so far away from his principles and reach a low never believed possible by most Americans? The GOP seeks to repeal most of the Constitution, and place our nation under the control of wealthy white men, while all other Americans exist in a form of slavery. A failure of leadership has forced the Republican Party to accept the extremist views of a few and embrace their vile beliefs.

This convention guarantees the destruction of the GOP. Not a single loyal Republican is in attendance. Only those desperate for national attention have agreed to speak at Trump’s three ring circus.

I am a little angry at Republicans, but my greatest emotion is embarrassment. Around the world people are shaking their heads and asking why does anyone support a man who would lead our nation into the past. While every other developed country rejects homophobia and racism, Republicans embrace evil.

I am truly speechless. Is my beloved country nearing its demise? Am I misguided because I revere the Constitution and believe that all men are created equal and have the right to live their lives according to their personal beliefs? Am I mistaken to believe that women are equal in every way to men, and should have the right to control what happens to their own bodies?

I heard people rave over speeches by Rudy Giuliani and Melania. I heard nothing to inspire me. Maybe I’m wrong; but maybe I’m right.

Op-Ed

By James Turnage

Source

Read my novels on the Amazon Kindle App

Leave a comment