How the Mainstream Media is Failing America

Television News

When I was a young man and became interested in the news, I was fortunate to have lived in an era where journalists were well respected; and they deserved that respect. The were described as intelligent, honest, and courageous. Men such as Edward R. Murrow, John Chancellor, Chet Huntley, David Brinkley, and of course Walter Cronkite offered the facts about each days events and allowed the viewer to decide what they meant to them. They asked the tough questions and demanded honest answers from the men and women they interviewed. They did not offer opinions, and did not attempt to be ‘entertaining.’ They were proud of their profession.

On November 9, 2016, I ceased to watch broadcast television news. I had been upset during the campaign season that today’s overpaid ‘journalists’ allowed Kellyanne Conway, Mike Pence, and of course Donald Trump, to refuse answering direct questions, which could often be answered with a simple ‘yes’ or ‘no.’ Instead they allowed them to make a campaign speech. They lacked the courage to force an honest and complete response, and never denounced them for it. Today’s ‘journalists’ are more concerned with profit than the facts.

My biggest complaint is that they fail to complete a story. They are afraid to ask the right questions from politicians who obviously don’t want to answer them. Trump was allowed to say ‘it will be huge’ and several other nonsensical and undefined phrases without ever stating how he would accomplish anything. Although I knew that he had no idea what he was doing, the mainstream media allowed him to convince uninformed and ignorant voters that he could ‘do everything.’ Look where we are now. Trump and his hypocritical party have no ability to govern the United States of America.

I decided to join millennials and find my information online. I look for the subject matter of articles, and select the ones I want to read. Then I read others in an effort to insure that what I’m reading is true.

Television “news” is not news. It is either propaganda, or entertainment. The broadcast networks are more concerned with entertainment than complete facts. Networks such as FOX are nothing more than propaganda machines.

I have promised to always tell the truth, and pass it on to my readers. Occasionally I will offer opinions or predictions based on the information I am able to obtain.

I appreciate your taking the time to read my blog, and I appreciate it when you pass the information on to your family and friends.

Op-ed by James Turnage

SOURCE

Photo courtesy of ed100

My novels are available on Amazon; CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

