When did Incompetence Become Acceptable in Washington?

trump-5

In 2003 America invaded a sovereign nation under false pretenses. Those in the highest level of our government lied to congress and the American people and once again placed thousands of our finest men and women in harm’s way. Initially most Americans believed the lies from the Bush 43 administration and accepted the invasion of Iraq. Shortly thereafter, the truth came into the light of day, and what was intentionally hidden from the world became an issue which divided our nation forever.

The Bush administration was not only immoral and secretive, it was incompetent. However, one fact continues to befuddle me; how in the hell did the American people reelect the two men who murdered thousands of Iraqis and America’s military based on deception? The 2004 election proved that half of the American people were willing to accept incompetence and lies from the leader of their nation.

Today the very existence of the nation of our founding fathers is in jeopardy. American voters could have elected the most qualified candidate in American history as their president. Ignorance, by choice, and emotion allowed the most unqualified and incompetent man in America to defile the White House.

What causes me the greatest sadness is that although Donald Trump has proven himself to be the worst president in American history, and a danger to America and the free world, he continues to be supported by millions of those who call themselves ‘Americans’ across the nation.

When did the American people become sheep in the ugly game of politics? How do millions of uninformed Americans continue to support a party which refuses to serve them? Why are many of the people in our nation willing to accept fascism, and an administration which is entirely incompetent by choice?

I have no answers for my questions; possibly because I choose to use my intelligence and ignore emotions and am blind to pure evil.

In June of 2015, I laughed at the minute possibility that a failed businessman; a proven criminal; and a sexual predator could have any belief that he could be elected to the presidency of one of the most respected nations in the world. I’m not laughing today. When I wake-up each day I find myself in disbelief and depressed that my beloved country is in control of an egomaniac who is unfit to claim the title of President of the United States of America.

Being a true patriot is complicated. Patriotism is first and foremost loyalty to the people of my country; all of them, regardless of their personal beliefs. My patriotism is seldom towards those we elect to serve in Washington because they fail to deserve my respect and loyalty. Even the two presidents I admired most in my 70 years disappointed me on occasion, and therefore deserved my criticism.

John F. Kennedy was assassinated during my senior year in high school. My entire senior class was devastated. We paid for a bust of JFK to be placed in the “senior court.” However, although I admired his courage and leadership, his personal life was tainted by his sexual escapades.

In 2008, the people who are the United States of America elected our first African American President. His intellect and charisma overshadowed his lack of experience. However, he learned quickly and attempted to serve all Americans. I believe that because he inherited the worst fiscal situation since FDR in 1933, and a nation irreparably divided by the previous administration’s failures, he will be remembered as one of America’s greatest presidents. But I criticized him for continuing his attempts to seek bipartisanship with a party which promised to say “no” to his agenda without considering its content. He should have been more aggressive and exposed the failures of the Republican Party. His actions during his second term were far more impressive; experience does matter.

Donald Trump is not only the most incompetent man in history sitting in the Oval Office, he is the most hated man in the world. Trump is a white supremacist, and a pathological liar. He has accomplished nothing in five months, and will accomplish nothing positive for all of the American people during his tenure in the White House.

Every day I force myself to resist my urge to surrender to rage. I cannot and will not accept a despicable man such as Donald Trump as my president. I have lived through and sometimes suffered through 12 presidencies prior to Trump. Many times I disagreed with them, but to some extent all of our nation’s leaders received a certain level of respect; (yes, even George W. Bush). Not today. I find Trump to be the most dangerous and horrific thing ever to happen to my America. His evil surpasses every event in our nation’s history. He hates the America I love.

Incompetence is synonymous with ‘Trump.’ But that’s not as sad as the truth; he chooses to be incompetent. His only goal is to fill his pockets with taxpayer money. He has no morals or principles. He is the worst of America; and he is in control of your future and the future of your children.

This country, with its institutions, belongs to the people who inhabit it. Whenever they shall grow weary of the existing government, they can exercise their constitutional right of amending it, or exercise their revolutionary right to overthrow it.” Abraham Lincoln
The time is now!

Please re-post; thank you.

Op-ed by James Turnage

Image courtesy of DonkeyHotey

My novels are available on Amazon; CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

