Seriously, as an Average American, Who Can I Trust?

Lincoln

As a proud and patriotic American, I grew up believing that I could trust my leaders in Washington. Over time, thanks to Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Ronald Reagan, and George W. Bush, I learned that much of the time it was us against them. The majority of the American people have been labeled as less intelligent, and unworthy of influencing those in Washington. As of this day, all faith in my government has been destroyed.

This fact is ignored by politicians and the media. They would like us to believe that the travesty of a Trump presidency is ‘acceptable.’ This is pure bull***t.

Most Americans no longer have faith that those we elect represent us. We believe that they are rejecting the principles and ideals of our founding fathers, and that the Constitution is only respected when parts of it fit their personal ambitions.

I have been interested in politics since the second Eisenhower Administration. When I was much younger, I believed the rhetoric of our nation’s leaders without question. After I was discharged from the United States Air Force in 1965, I began to question much of what occurred in our nation’s Capitol.

When friends and family came home from Vietnam in body bags, or suffering from permanent injuries, both physical and mental, I began to question the competency of those we elected.

As a senior in high school, I had revered John F. Kennedy, only to see him murdered by a coward, or cowards; depending on what you believe. I supported Ronald Reagan during his first term, but denounced him later because of his war on the working class. I respected George H.W. Bush, but found him a weak and unqualified president. Bill Clinton accomplished many advancements for the American people, but failed to denounce the new Republican Party which was emerging as the party of special interests. For the first time I rejected my position as an Independent and registered as a Democrat in an effort to defeat George W. Bush in 2000. My worst fears were materialized as our nation invaded two nations, and our military faced death without justification.

Although I originally supported Hillary Clinton in 2008, the charisma and intellect of Barrack Hussein Obama convinced me that he was what our nation needed, and would lead us from the atmosphere of fear and hatred into a nation which once again respected and revered compassion and intelligent action. His eight years in office proved that my estimation was mostly confirmed.

Here we are in 2017. We have an illegitimate president whose interests have no relation to the future of the majority of the American people. He lacks morality, intellect, and the ability to lead. So, who am I to trust as a patriot who has lived for seven decades and was an original baby boomer? The truth is ‘no one.’

My government spies on me in violation of the fourth amendment. My government rejects the Constitution by ignoring the first and 14th amendments. I have no representation in Washington because lobbyists pay our legislators for their votes. Republicans ignore the polls and vote for themselves and special interests; the needs and desires of the majority are ignored. We have an illegitimate president who is attempting to destroy the last remnants of democracy and institute fascism. A foreign nation is controlling our nation and those who support their illegitimate president are bowing to his anti-American policies.

The answer is simple. The only Americans I can trust are the people. Our government has failed us and must be replaced. Abraham Lincoln instructed the people to insure that the nation of our founding fathers would endure.

This country, with its institutions, belongs to the people who inhabit it. Whenever they shall grow weary of the existing government, they can exercise their constitutional right of amending it, or exercise their revolutionary right to overthrow it.” Abraham Lincoln

No one in Washington has the courage to bluntly tell the truth and stand up to tyranny. Without a violent revolution, our only recourse is to vote all incumbents out of office. In November of 2018, we have a midterm election. We have the power to reverse the power structure in Washington. All 435 Representatives are up for reelection, and one-third of the Senate. Republicans who support Trump can be removed from their lives of privilege and luxury.

This is your choice and your country. Our elected officials are intended to represent you; not you them.

Please re-post and keep our nation informed of the truth.

Op-Ed

By James Turnage

Follow me on twitter; @jamesturnagenov

My five novels are now available on the free Amazon Kindle app

Leave a Reply

