Embarrassed By Trump? You’re Not Alone

Don

In June of 2015, Donald Trump declared his intention to seek the Republican nomination for the presidency. I laughed, and so did millions of other Americans. How could a brash, uncouth man even consider the possibility? He was totally unqualified, and even his own business ventures were mired in controversy.

When FOX Noise held the first “debate” in August of 2015, what I watched was both a travesty, and an embarrassment. If this was the best the Republican Party had to offer, they were in serious trouble. As I realized what was actually occurring, I was appalled. Megyn Kelly had obviously been instructed to destroy Trump’s credibility by Roger Ailes and Reince Priebus. This turned out to become Trump’s first big victory; his poll numbers rose the next day.

As the debates continued, and Trump held rallies across the nation, America began to learn who this man was. He was openly racist, a bully, and he controlled his crowds with anger as he encouraged violence. He was most definitely unfit to be the President of the United States.

We all know the rest of the sad story. I have been curious about how many of our nation’s true Americans felt embarrassment that such and immoral man represented our once respected nation. A recent poll reveals that I am not alone; I am one of the majority.

Trump is viewed overall as “dishonest, a poor leader, and unstable.”

A recent poll shows that 58 percent of Americans are embarrassed to have Trump living in the White House. In all categories, Americans are displeased with Trump’s first month in office.

From my first day in Catholic Elementary School in 1952, I was proud to be an American. At the beginning of every school day, we stood, placed our right hand over our hearts, and recited the Pledge of Allegiance. As I grew older, I began to find the world of politics fascinating. I “liked Ike,” and learned about his efforts to help our nation win WWII. I was a high school freshman in 1960 when John F. Kennedy was elected president; and a senior when he was assassinated on November 22, 1963.

Like all Americans, I was angry at first, then sadness replaced the anger, and for a short time I was depressed. However, as time passed, I became even more interested in politics. I saw the good and bad in the men who worked in Washington; both Republicans and Democrats.

I remained proud of my country, until the war in Vietnam began to produce thousands of casualties with no end in sight. No one my age ever understood why we were there in the first place. I began to question my government, but I remained a patriot to the people of our nation.

I was not happy with several of our presidents; of course “Tricky Dick” was at the top of the list; but I respected all of them because I believed they loved our country, and were simply misguided in their views.

Donald Trump is different. I have absolutely no respect for the man. I will never call him my president. I will never accept a man without morals as the leader of my beloved nation. He represents the opposite views of our founding fathers, and is not an American.

And, yes, I am embarrassed. In just over a month, Trump has become the most hated man in the world. I despise his unconstitutional acts, the fact that he ignores the American people, and his arrogance and ignorance. I even hate the fact that he has absolutely no ability to speak intelligently.

This ‘bad joke’ must be removed as soon as possible, and by any means.

This is my country; not his.

Op-Ed

By James Turnage

Source

Photo courtesy of DonkeyHotey

Follow me on twitter; @jamesturnagenov

My five novels are now available on the Amazon Kindle app

Leave a Reply

