My Shame as a Baby Boomer

DSCF2696

Throughout my life I believed that being an original baby boomer was somewhat special. The changes which began in our nation on the day I was born are too many to mention. I was proud to denounce the Vietnam War, and the invasions of Afghanistan and Iraq. I was also proud to have experienced the courage of John F. Kennedy, and the historic election of Barrack Obama. My pride has been replaced by disgust and disappointment.

I truly believed that my demographic of white men in their 60’s and 70’s were more informed. It is now obvious that they are consumer oriented and less patriotic than I previously hoped and believed. The statistics show that they supported the most immoral man ever to run for president, and is less qualified than I to be the President of the United States.

Maybe it’s because I was raised by a single mother, and we were poor. We had the necessities because my mother worked every hour she was allowed, but anything that was not mandatory for our survival was not an option. I learned to love my country for its people; all of its people. I had black friends, Hispanic friends, gay friends, and friends who practiced other religions than Christianity. As a normal teenager, I loved the ladies, but I also had several who were friends and who I respected as wonderful individuals.

My mother and I did not agree on many things; but my respect and appreciation for her unyielding devotion to me and to my brother will never be forgotten, or under-valued.

I certainly cannot say the same for Trump and his supporters. He is one month older than me, but has none of the love for the nation of our forefathers as I do. He is a sexual predator, and a criminal. His only god is money.

I am truly ashamed of my fellow baby boomers. Far too many are now proven white supremacists, homophobes, Islamophobes, and misogynists.

Op-Ed

By James Turnage

Follow me on twitter; @jamesturnagenov

Enjoy my novels on the free Amazon Kindle app worldwide

Leave a Reply

